Beckon – Tom Pawlik

BeckonSome things weren’t meant to be discovered. Three people are each drawn to the small town of Beckon, Wyoming. A young anthropologist researches a Native American legend and makes a terrifying discovery. An ex-cop investigating her cousin’s disappearance finds herself in grave peril. And an aging businessman is lured by the promise of a miracle. One by one they discover the town’s ghastly secret. The only question is . . . will any of them make it out alive?

MY REVIEW

 

Hang On…the ride is wild and fast, like the fastest most daring roller coaster ride times one hundred! Definitely NOT for the faint of heart. It is the kind of novel where you have to remember to breathe, and to unclench your fingers from the book or armrest. Where your heart can be in the throat, and your mind dizzy with all the sensory overload. I think HORROR would be the most appropriate to describe Tom Pawlik’s newest novel, Beckon.

The novel starts out innocently enough with 21 year old Jack trying to find out what happened to his father when he disappeared out of Jack’s life twelve years ago. Jack does not go on his own, but takes his best friend, seemingly his only friend along. Along the way, they pick up a guide to take them into an isolated area of the Wyoming mountainous region.

It also follows Elena as the young police woman from California searches for her cousin who has disappeared, and an elderly couple, George and Mariam. Mariam has had Alzheimer for four years, when Thomas Vale contacts him with a proposition that George finds impossible to ignore.

Will I pick up another Tom Pawlik novel? Well, if I am going to be honest with you, and honesty is what Tyndale and my readers are looking for in my reviews, no, I do not expect to. Even now, after I have put the book down, my heart races as I think of the word pictures Tom drew, and I know that it all comes from his own wild imagination. So, would I recommend it to others. In one word, yes I will, with the disclosure written above. It is a super well written novel, keeping the reader’s attention throughout, no dragging moments, characters are well formed. In fact, dispite the fact that I did not like it because it is totally out of my genre, it is a great novel.

Leave a Reply

