Starring Me – Krista McGee

Starring Me – by Krista McGee is a very fun read. A Young Adult fiction, it was slightly out of the normal genre for me, definitely not suspense in the way of Candace Calvert, Vivian Hinze which is usually my preference. Written more in the style of Karen Kingsbury or Robin Jones Gunn, I am sure it will resonate with the young adult reader.
I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Kara as she is auditioning for a role in a TV series, spending time with best friend Addy who lives out of state, as well as a teenager at home. At first she seemed a little self-centered, but no more than a lot of teens are, and I thought she matured beautifully through the set of incidents with her family and peers. Addy is the perfect foil for Kara, Christian to Kara’s indifference, quiet to Kara’s squeals. The choices presented to the girls were realistic and the way they responded was heartwarming.
I was thrilled to think that there are still some Chads and Jonathans in this world.
This is the first Krista McGee novel I have read, and as I said, I don’t very often pick up a Young Adult fiction novel, but I am sure I will be looking for her work.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review, which I have given here. The opinions stated are my own.

Leave a Reply

